June 17, 2014

Reminder: This is America, Charlie Brown DVD re-release on June 17

If you're looking for a copy of This is America, Charlie Brown on DVD, the two-disc Warner Home Video re-release of the eight episode miniseries is out today, June 17, 2014.

Promoted as "the first animated miniseries ever," the specials were broadcast in prime-time on CBS during the 1988-89 television season. Meant as both education and entertainment, the shows find the Peanuts gang witnessing and participating in historic events and discoveries. For more details, visit the Peanuts Animation & Video Page.

The eight episodes are:

  • The Mayflower Voyagers
  • The Birth of the Constitution
  • The Wright Brothers at Kitty Hawk
  • The NASA Space Station
  • The Building of the Transcontinental Railroad
  • The Great Inventors
  • The Smithsonian and the Presidency
  • The Music and Heroes of America

This isn't the first time all the episodes of This is America, Charlie Brown have been released on DVD - Paramount released a DVD set with the exact same contents back in 2006 - but that set has been out of print for many years, so this is a welcome reissue. (But given the previous release, Warner's claim on the cover that the specials are "together for the first time" is bogus.)

The list price for the set is $26.99, and it's available now.

1 comment:

GaryBoz said...

It took me a while to find this one. I normally purchase all of my Peanuts dvd's at Walmart. I searched 3 different Walmarts for over a month, and found nothing. The first Target I walked into, I was able to pick this up.

Great release, my 4 year old loves this one!